NHS England

NHS England 

The NHS England is an independent body, at arms length to the Government, established on 31 October 2012. It took on full statutory responsibilities 1st  April 2013. 

NHS England has  many of the  functions of the PCTs with regard to the commissioning of primary care health services, as well as some nationally-based functions currently undertaken by the Department of Health.

The new arrangements comprise a single operating model for the commissioning of primary care services, which up until 31st March 2013 were done  by PCTs and their predecessors.

NHS England  works through national, regional and local area teams to discharge their responsibilities which for Hampshire & IOW  is the Wessex Area Team 

The ambitions for the new primary care commissioning arrangements include:

  • High quality, patient-centred primary care services
  • Continuous improvements in health outcomes and a reduction in inequalities

At a national level  NHS England  will work with stakeholders to determine the outcomes expected from primary care and use this as a basis for developing the framework for national and local contracts.At a regional and local level, the Wessex Area Team will work in partnership with CCGs and other local networks to ensure there is a locally responsive approach, supported by joint health and wellbeing strategies, joint strategic needs assessments (JSNAs) and pharmaceutical needs assessments (PNAs)

 NHS England  will also be responsible for planning, securing and monitoring an agreed set of primary care services.

NHS England have published details of the 27 Area Teams  that are part of NHS England structure and Dorset will be joining Hampshire to form a Wessex team.Local professional networks will be an integral part of NHS England area teams.

Continuing Professional Development Just visiting this site means you are probably performing CPD - record it online at www.uptodate.org.uk
Site developed by Gary Warner
Drupal theme by Kiwi Themes.